Minnesota FFA Convention Results

The 85th Annual Minnesota State FFA Convention wrapped up this week, with many area FFA members and alumni taking home high honors.

Big congratulations to Deb Martin, Worthington ag teacher and FFA advisor, as one of the 19 individuals to receive the Honorary State FFA Degree!

This honor is presented to teachers, individuals and companies who have demonstrated continued success and support of the FFA and/or ag education, and made a significant impact and contribution to the success of students and the organization.

Also a congratulations to Rebecca Dose of Jackson County Central, for taking first place in the talent competition. Her first time competing was a great success, as she sang "Love Song" by Sara Bareilles. Her performance earned her the opportunity to vie for an invite to the National FFA Convention in October in Louisville, Ky.

Area Individual Honors

  • 1st in Nursery Operations - Zach Schumacher, Southwest Star Concept
  • 2nd in Veterinary Science - Paige Anderson, Jackson County Central
  • 3rd in Sheep Production - Brady Bobendrier, Pipestone
  • 3rd in Forage Production - Thomas Salentiny, Fulda Area

Individual CDE Awards

  • 1st in Agriculture Sales - Paige Anderson, Jackson County Central
  • 1st in Meat Evaluation - Blake Wolters, Pipestone
  • 1st in Crops - Spencer Walter, Windom
  • 1st in Soils - Morgan Denniston, Westbrook-Walnut Grove Area

Team CDE Awards

  • 1st in Agriculture Sales - Pipestone FFA
  • 1st in Meat Evaluation - Pipestone FFA
  • 1st in Crops - Windom FFA
  • 1st in Poultry Evaluation - Fulda FFA
  • 1st in Dairy Foods - Westbrook-Walnut Grove FFA
  • 1st in Soils - Westbrook-Walnut Grove FFA
  • 1st in Small Animals - Jackson County Central FFA

Region 6 Minnesota FFA Degree recipients 

  • Cole Dierks, Fulda
  • Suzanne Pagel, Fulda
  • Jared Smith, Fulda
  • Patrick Tate, Jackson County Central
  • Marcus Hinkeldey, Jackson County Central
  • Michelle Buresch, Jackson County Central
  • Christian Goyne-Yarns, Jackson County Central
  • Hannah Holmberg, Jackson County Central
  • Hunter Klontz, Jackson County Central
  • Bailey Schneekloth, Jackson County Central
  • Kassidy Timmer, Jackson County Central
  • Trevor Teal, Luverne-Adrian
  • Andrea Severtson, Luverne-Adrian
  • Tyler Dick, Mountain Lake
  • Joshua Fast, Mountain Lake
  • Andrew Berg, Pipestone
  • Autumn Hinkeldey, Southwest Star Concept
  • Kristin Liepold, Southwest Star Concept
  • Mary Poppe, Southwest Star Concept
  • Zachary Schumacher, Southwest Star Concept
  • Brandon Thurk, Southwest Star Concept;
  • Max Sykora, Windom
  • John Turner, Windom
  • Jacob Weg, Worthington
  • Desalegn Zemenfes, Worthington

Congratulations to all degree recipients! To receive this honor, students are involved in work-based experiences of two types, placement or entrepreneurship. Each candidate must have completed a minimum of two years of classroom instruction in an Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Education program.

Finally, with a new year comes a new slate of state officers. Congratulations to the 2014-2015

The 2014-2015 Minnesota State Officer Team is:

  • President Jack Roessler from St. Charles
  • Vice President Kyla Mauk from Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted
  • Secretary Valerie Earley from Spring Valley-Wykof
  • Treasurer Brady Wulf from Morris Area
  • Reporter Erin Larson from New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva
  • Sentinel Dalton Kampsen from New London-Spicer

An important Iowa FFA note, that Devan Vander Veen, a senior at Sibley-Ocheyedan High School, was elected Iowa FFA vice president representing the Northwest Region during the 86th Iowa FFA Leadership Conference Tuesday night in Ames.

Vander Veen was one of 24 candidates vying for a position on the state officer team and continues a four-year string of state officers hailing from the Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA Chapter. To earn the state officer position, Vander Veen participated in a two-day interview process last week that included seven rounds of personal questions, speeches and essay writing. The results of those rounds were graded, leading to the announcement of the candidate ballot Monday morning.

Vander Veen will now serve alongside eight fellow officers for the next year, helping to present leadership camps and workshops, travel to chapters throughout the state and carry the message of agriculture and the FFA to high school students. In addition, they will participate in Iowa FFA Foundation activities, the Iowa State Fair, Iowa FFA Legislative Symposium, the National FFA Convention and numerous FFA Career Development Events.

The team will also coordinate the 87th Iowa FFA Leadership Conference next spring in Ames. By then, Vander Veen will be in the midst of his freshman year of college. He plans to attend Iowa State University in Ames this fall to pursue a degree in agricultural systems technology.

Congratulations to all FFA'ers!


Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
3 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.