Area Sports Headlines

Jalen Voss named a NAIA All-American


The accolades continue to pile up for Dakota Wesleyan University junior Jalen Voss, as the former Worthington Trojan has been named a NAIA Division II All-American.

Voss was selected as a NAIA Division II 3rd Team All-American Selection. Jalen Voss wrapped up an outstanding junior season by leading the Tigers in scoring, averaging 20.9 points per game. He also was the Tigers' leading rebounder, pulling down 7.4 rebounds per game, helping to lead Dakota Wesleyan to an 18-14 season. He ranked 2nd in the Great Plains Athletic Conference in both categories and for the 2nd straight...

Tiffany Gehl named a WBCA All-American


The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced on Wednesday night their 2013-2014 10-member Junior/Community College Coaches’ All-America Team and one the selection was Minnesota West's Tiffany Gehl

Gehl, a sophomore from Fulda, averaged 22.9 points per game this season in helping to lead the Minnesota West Lady Jays to a 22-6 record and a runner-up finish in this year’s Region 13 tournament. Tiffany Gehl also became the Lady Jays’ all-time leading scorer, passing Sam Lynn’s 1,147 points. Gehl averaged 20.6 points per game as a freshman, helping Minnesota West finish 2012-...

Red Rock All-Conference Girls Basketball Team


The Red Rock Conference has released their 2013-2014 All-Conference Girls Basketball Team

Courtney Place, JR, Southwestern United
Kailey Wendland, JR, Southwestern United
Sariah Cheadle, JR, Fulda
Melissa Gehl, SR, Fulda
Hope Veldkamp, SO, Southwest Christian
Tianna Top, JR, Southwest Christian
Savannah Tinklenberg, JR, Southwest Christian
Jade Giese, JR, Murray County Central
Morgan Behrends, JR, Murray County Central
Tanner Gunnink, JR, Edgerton
Mia Wassink, SO, Edgerton
Brooke Rasmussen, SR,...

Red Rock All-Conference Boys Basketball Team


The Red Rock Conference has released their 2013-2014 All-Conference Boys Basketball team

Cody Klassen, SR, Mountain Lake Area
Andrew Hempeck, SR, Mountain Lake Area
Carter Kirk, SR, Mountain Lake Area
Leighton Sampson, SR, Southwest Christian
Clayton Huisken, SR, Southwest Christian
Nate Pfeifle, SR, Southwest Christian
Johnathon Kramer, SR, Ellsworth
Mitch Leuthold, SR, Ellsworth
Drew Cheskie, SR, Ellsworth
Aaron Fest, SR, Southwestern United
Josh Ramerth, SR, Fulda
Nick Reyne, SR, Adrian...

Southwest All-Conference Boys Basketball Team


The Southwest Conference has released their 2013-2014 All-Conference Boys Basketball Team

Marcus Potter, SR, Worthington
Spencer Grafing, SR, Worthington
Jon Harmening, Jackson County Central
Josh Slieter, Luverne
Boyer Bouman, Pipestone
Collin Moeller, Pipestone
Carl Douglas, Marshall
Riley Sharbono, Marshall
Sam Pendelton, Redwood Valley
Taquez Perkins, Redwood Valley

Honorable Mention:
Zach Schwarting, Jackson County Central
Darnell Taylor-Breck, Jackson County Central
Sam Huska,...

Southwest All-Conference Boys Hockey Team


The Southwest Conference has released their 2013-2014 All-Conference Boys Hockey Team.

Kendall Meyer, Luverne
Logan Norman, Luverne
Toby Sengvongxay, Luverne
Chaz Smedsrud, Luverne
Jaxon Nelson, Luverne
Zach Bartosh, Windom Area
Devin Nielsen, Windom Area
Jack Mellstrom, Windom Area
Brent Haukom, Marshall
Mason Campion, Marshall
Alex Buysse, Marshall
Tanner Gimberlin, Morris/Benson Area

Honorable Mention:
Andrew Johnson, Worthington
Andrew Verhey, Luverne
Dylan Pigman,...

2014 Siouxland All-Conference Girls Basketball Team


The Siouxland Conference has released their 2013-2014 All-Conference Girls Basketball Team

1st Team All-Conference:
Bridget Doeden, SR, Sibley-Ocheyedan*
Alexis Conaway, SR, MOC-Floyd Valley*
Emily McDonald, SR, MOC-Floyd Valley
Katie Landhuis, SR, MOC-Floyd Valley
Abby Taylor, SR, Okoboji
Krista Bousema, SR, Sheldon
Kensey Vande Hoef, SR, Rock Valley
*denotes unanimous all-conference selection

2nd Team All-Conference:
Sarah Halse, JR, Central Lyon
Jessica Sandbulte, SR, George-Little Rock
Kayla Ackerman, SR,...

2014 Southwest All-Conference Wrestling Team


The Southwest Conference has released the 2014 All-Conference Wrestling Team

Hser Eh Pwae, Worthington
Anthony Luft, Worthington
Zach Kempema, Worthington
Blake Schroeder, Worthington
Carson Hagen, Worthington
Trevor Wietzema, Worthington
Jordan Biehn, Jackson County Central
Paden Moore, Jackson County Central
Luke Norland, Jackson County Central
Chris Baker, Jackson County Central
Keegan Moore, Jackson County Central
Jack Ziemer, Jackson County Central
Adam Fodness, Luverne

Final Results for Area Wrestlers at 2014 Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament


A number of area wrestlers began their trip to a state championship on Friday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. Here's a look at how the weekend shaped up for our area grapplers

Class AA Wrestlers
Worthington wrestlers:
106 pounds: Hser eh Pwae picked up a 5-2 decision win in the opening round over #9 Jackson Stauffacher of Scott West. Hser eh Pwae lost a 12-10 decision in overtime to AJ Bethea of Hibbing in a state quarterfinal. In the wrestlebacks, Hser Eh Pwae lost a 5-2 decision to #2 Anthony Phillipson of Peqout Lakes/Pine River-Backus, eliminating him from...

MCAC All-Division Men's Basketball teams


The Minnesota College Athletic Conference has released their 2013-2014 All-Division Men's Basketball Teams

All-Southern Division:
Derek Buysse, FR, Minnesota West
Jackson Seitzinger, SO, Minnesota West
Beau Herrig, SO, Ridgewater
Chuck Robinson, SO, Rochester
Jumarhi Turner, FR, Rochester
Rico Gunn, SO, Rochester
Joey Weldon, SO, Anoka-Ramsey
Lemuel Doe, SO, Anoka-Ramsey
Trent Pollard, FR, Anoka-Ramsey
Cody Krueger, SO, Western Tech
Riley West, SO, St. Cloud Tech
Scott Nystrom, FR, St. Cloud Tech